Close
Articles by Year

<<     >>

Articles by Category

UK +44 (0)1479 420 020

Activities

Selected Trips

    Locations

    Selected Trips

      Client Reviews

      Rated 4.87 out of 5 based on 4399 review(s) of Reviews

      Reviews

      GR

      Gunvor Rottensten

      Self-Drive - Winter Highland Cosy Cairngorms

      Reviewed on 12/02/2020

      Age: 70 - 80
      Country: Luxembourg
      Trip Date: 29/01/2020
      Trips Taken: 10

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Our Cozy Cairngorms trip gave us all we had been promised. We loved the Fife Arms Hotel in Braemar, the massage on the first afternoon was just what we needed after our walk, and the afternoon with Katie very interesting and enjoyable.

      IE

      Inga Ebert

      Self-Drive - Winter Highland Cosy Cairngorms

      Reviewed on 10/02/2020

      Age: 60 - 70
      Country: Luxembourg
      Trip Date: 29/01/2020
      Trips Taken: 9

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Super trip and so glad that it was made possible. Loved to be in Scotland this time of year and we had excellent weather. And we arrived 29 jan and toured with you but then we continued to Ballater and walked another 3 days (seven Bridges, Sgor Buidhe and Loch Muick circuit) and then to Inverurie where we walked from Pittodrie house (several walks around Bennachie) so we only returned home yesterday - blown by the wind! But another succes story!! Will be back in Scotland 2 april.

      JL

      Joseph Leissle

      Wilderness Walking - High Points of the Outer Hebrides

      Reviewed on 01/02/2020

      Age: 40 - 50
      Country: United States
      Trip Date: 05/05/2018
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      We will be back for another trip!

      GF

      Gary Fisher

      19WSTM Tailor Made trips

      Reviewed on 09/01/2020

      Age: 60 - 70
      Country: United Kingdom
      Trip Date: 27/12/2019
      Trips Taken: 4

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      No hesitation in recommending WS to others. Everything ran like clockwork - as ever!

      RS

      Rebecca Steinmetz

      Wilderness Walking - Outer Hebrides: Uists, Barra and Mingulay

      Reviewed on 23/12/2019

      Age: 60 - 70
      Country: United States
      Trip Date: 31/08/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      We just loved every day of the tour.....just be prepared for any weather conditions and Wilderness Scotland will take care of the rest! We have booked another walking tour with your sister company, Wilderness Ireland, for 2020. Needless to say, we are so excited for this one too and feel very comfortable to just let you handle all the minute details again!

      JG

      Jason Green

      Road Cycling - The Grand Tour

      Reviewed on 08/12/2019

      Age: 40 - 50
      Country: United States
      Trip Date: 06/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Simply put, it was amazing and yes, you should do it. Scotland itself will amaze by any means, but experiencing it on a bicycle is a special treat—you go places you normally would not, or would speed through, and at a pace that allows you to take it in and really appreciate it. The route is well thought out, with manageable distances each day and opportunities for rests along the way. Each day begins and ends at a reasonable hour, and for me, I was still able to go for walks/hikes for an hour or two before and after dinner to explore the area (shops tend to close at 5:00). I liked all of the excursions, and found them well timed and well integrated into the day’s journey. You generally dine together, which I enjoyed and still allowed me to essentially also do a sticky toffee pudding tour of Scotland. The accommodations varied a bit, but they were all good local spots (no chains), with a bar and restaurant, wifi. Our guides, here Tim and Scott, were brilliant—they shared their impressive knowledge of Scotland and many random subjects that you broach when spending a week together. They checked in with us regularly, and were flexible and made tweaks to ensure everyone was enjoying their time. They selected great lunch spots and Scott prepared a fantastic picnic on one of the days. We had a range of riders, and they handled that well—one of the guides rides among the group (it sometimes stretches out a bit) and the other guide is always close by in a van, so you can join in there if you need an assist up a hill or are done for the day. Like one of my fellow riders from July, I am also looking at another trip. For those of you looking at these, wondering if you should do go for it—yes, you absolutely should. I pondered it for a few years, and my one regret here is that I did not start doing this sooner. About me for comparison: I am in my early 40s, and a pleasure and commuter cyclist, about 20 miles round trip for work, with a single Washington DC "hill" to climb at the end of one leg (no, not that Hill), and an occasional a weekend jaunt that can range up to 35 miles, again with no serious hills. And please don't judge me too harshly, but I use a hybrid and have never used clip pedals/shoes. (I stuck with a hybrid for the trip in fear of unforeseen issues switching to a road bike for a long trip; the hybrid worked fine for me, and it was a curiosity/amusement for everyone else—I was the lone hybrid user on the tour. And I also stuck with regular shoes.) I do have good endurance, which is needed for the distance and hills; I mostly walk or bike (versus drive) so am accustomed to long stretches of both. The Highland hills were challenging at times, but I always managed to make it up without walking my bike or hopping in the van. Ultimately, I was able to be near the lead for most of the journey, whether cruising the rolling hills or going up real hills. Thanks to Wilderness Scotland, particularly Tim and Scott, and my fellow cyclists for an unforgettable experience and introducing me to a new way to travel and explore.

      SD

      Sheila Dickson

      Wilderness Walking - Autumn Highlands

      Reviewed on 26/11/2019

      Age: 70 - 80
      Trip Date: 05/11/2019
      Trips Taken: 2

      The Bottom Line

      IE

      Inga Ebert

      Wilderness Walking - Autumn Highlands

      Reviewed on 15/11/2019

      Age: 60 - 70
      Country: Luxembourg
      Trip Date: 23/10/2019
      Trips Taken: 8

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Just take the fact that I and several friends keep coming back - and we already have plans for next year too.

      FI

      Florence Iniachimuthu

      Wilderness Walking - Outer Hebrides & Skye

      Reviewed on 08/11/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: Malaysia
      Trip Date: 12/10/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Definitely looking forward to more trips with Wilderness Scotland! It was absolute perfection from start to finish. The brilliant guide, the delicious food, wonderful hotels, breathtaking scenery, challenging hikes and even the Scottish weather, which was surprisingly perfect with gorgeous rainbows, gave me one the most amazing weeks that I have had in my life. Thanks Wilderness Scotland, Dave, Kim & Lesley!

      MM

      Matthew Montgomery

      Wilderness Walking - Autumn Highlands

      Reviewed on 08/11/2019

      Age: 70 - 80
      Country: Luxembourg
      Trip Date: 23/10/2019
      Trips Taken: 3

      The Bottom Line

      Award-Winning Journeys

      National Geographic Adventure
      National Geographic Adventure

      Best Adventure Travel Companies

      Green Tourism Gold Approved
      Green Tourism

      Green Tourism Gold Approved

      Pure Life Experiences
      Pure Life Experiences

      High-End Experiential Travel

      World Travel Awards
      World Travel Awards

      Leading Green Tour Operator

      National Geographic Traveller
      National Geographic Traveller

      50 tours of a lifetime

      News & Offers

      Be the first to hear about new trips, locations and activities with our monthly newsletter

      Exceptional Travel Experiences
      From our Friends

      Wilderness Ireland

      Specialists in offering a range of adventure holidays, tours and incredible wilderness experiences. Wilderness Ireland take their clients to the most remote and beautiful regions of Ireland, all while staying at the most welcoming accommodations and delivering outstanding customer service.

      Visit Website
      Bspoke

      The ultimate collection of European cycling holidays. BSpoke's cycling experts can tailor-make your perfect cycling holiday where you can travel at your own pace or in a group of like-minded individuals. A BSpoke Tour is all about being as restful or as adventurous as you desire.

      Visit Website
      Ski Solutions

      Britain's original ski travel agency and tailor-made ski tour operator, Ski Solutions has been arranging ski holidays for over 30 years across Europe and North America. The Ski Solutions team are all skiing experts, and their wealth of knowledge and passion for the mountains will ensure you experience a truly memorable ski holiday.

      Visit Website
      Cycling for Softies

      Cycling for Softies is a luxury cycling tour operator providing gourmet cycling adventures in France and Italy. These are leisurely cycling tours winding through vineyards and staying in high end accommodation where the emphasis is as much on the food and wine as the cycling. Welcome to life in the easy lane.

      Visit Website