UK: +44 (0)1479 420 020
US: 1-866-740-3890
National Geographic - Best Adventure Travel Companies
BLACK FRIDAY - FREE Jacket worth £220 with every booking. - ENDS 30th Nov »

Client Reviews

Rated 4.92 out of 5 based on 243 reviews of Road Cycling

5 star 226

4 star 14

3 star 3

2 star 0

1 star 0

 Client Kudos

Every client receives a feedback survey when they return from their guided, self guided or tailor made holiday with us.

Once completed the review is published on our website just as soon as our database updates. The little touches and details are important to us and where issues are raised we make positive changes to our trips to improve your experience.

That’s why we read each of our client’s reviews and although we don’t respond to all of them, if it’s glowing feedback then we get the satisfaction of helping to make your holidays truly memorable.

Independent Wilderness Scotland Reviews

If you would like to read independent reviews of our holidays then you can do just that over on the AITO website (Association of Independent Tour Operators).

Road Cycling - Outer Hebrides

by Karen Parry 11/09/2017

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

3The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Logistically it might not be possible, but having a bigger group would have been better
Accommodation and Food
Some accommodations were better than others. Appreciate we probably stayed in the best places available
Your Guide
Great at responding to changes caused by cancelled ferries etc
The Bottom Line
I think you attract a different group of clients than other companies I have done group trips with. The cycling was fabulous, the group dynamics were a bit odd- not your fault but I haven't experienced that before on any of the trips I've done with other companies.
Road Cycling - Island Explorer

by Peggy Forsyth 02/07/2017

5Pre-Trip Service

3Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

3The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Love the hotels and the food. Arran glenisle hotel was wonderful. All were perfect.
Your Guide
Sam was fantastic.
The Bottom Line
Great hotels, strong on logistics, great people who were on the trip. Needed van backup on last biking day and more communication on the difficult parts.

TEAM WILDERNESS RESPONSE:

Thanks so much for your feedback, it sounds like you had a great trip! Unfortunately as we are biking on Jura on the last day it’s not possible to take a support vehicle across to the Island, this is mentioned on the trip dossier but we’ll make sure to ask the guides to remind everyone on the trip. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Highlands soon.
Road Cycling - Island Explorer

by Geraldine Cruickshank 22/05/2016

2Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

3The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
I had to push you to agree to have mudguards available for our hire bikes. You changed the date of the May departure for the bike tour and then asked us to hold off booking flights etc when you thought you might extend the holiday by a day. Both these issues almost persuaded us to cancel the holiday.

TEAM WILDERNESS RESPONSE:

Thanks for your feedback; I’m sorry that you weren’t happy with the customer service before your trip and I wanted to address a couple of the issues you raised.

We did briefly consider extending this trip by one day but as you had already booked we wanted to contact you to ask if you had already arranged travel for the trip, which you hadn’t and also if you would still be able to join us if we did extend the trip, which you were. We did also advise that if we were to extend the trip there would be no extra cost for you. Ultimately we did decide not to add an extra day but we were grateful for your understanding while we researched this option.

A few months later you contacted us to ask if we hired mudguards to clients on our road cycling trips to which we advised it wasn't standard issue for our hire bikes. The reasons for this are firstly we have never previously received a request for mudguards and secondly, bikes permanently fitted with mudguards/fenders cannot be transported on our bike trailer without damage to the bike.

We did advise that if you wanted to bring your own we would be happy to fit them on our bikes for you but you weren’t able to do so.

To meet your request, we specially purchased some clip on mudguards for you to use throughout the trip.

We're sorry that these incidents made you think about cancelling your trip. We strive for excellence in all areas and are disappointed when anyone has any complaints - especially when we’ve worked hard to give the best service possible.

It sounds like you still had a great time and hopefully you will retain many fond memories of your trip to the Scottish Islands.
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
Both Ben and Will were prepared to go the extra mile to ensure we were enjoying the tour and their obvious love of what they do was infectious.
The Bottom Line
It was a good trip, but the unpredictability of the weather (wind, cold and precipitation) has to be accepted as a likely occurrence. Also the state of the back roads are poor for the most part so it's difficult to admire the scenery as you cycle through it because you have to keep your eyes focussed on the pot holes.

TEAM WILDERNESS RESPONSE:

Unfortunately we can’t do anything about any potholes on the road but hope the relaxed pace of the trip and lots of breaks allowed you to enjoy the scenery fully. We’ll follow up with the guides to get their feedback on the road conditions from this first trip of the season.