UK: +44 (0)1479 420 020
US: 1-866-740-3890
National Geographic - Best Adventure Travel Companies

Self Guided – West Highland Way

  • Trek the 95 miles of the West Highland Way, taking on the challenge of Scotland’s most famous long distance trail
  • Experience changing scenery as you hike from the lowlands of Scotland into the heart of the West Highlands
  • We will arrange all accommodation, luggage transfer and provide you with maps and comprehensive route notes.
  • 8 nights’ accommodation on a Bed and Breakfast basis in Guest Houses, Bed and Breakfasts, Small Hotels and Inns along the route, based on two people sharing a twin or double room
  • Luggage transfer for 1 bag per person for the duration of the trip, meaning you will only have to carry a day rucksack
  • Route notes which include a map and full directions to your accommodation
  • The services of the Wilderness Scotland Team prior to & during your trip

Blue Graded Self Guided Holidays 4-6

Our Blue graded walking holidays involve climbing some of Scotland’s best mountains and ridges. The walks are conducted at a good pace and you may be out hiking for 8 or 9 hours a day. The terrain underfoot can be anything from stalker’s paths to rough or boggy ground, boulder fields and mountain tops.

The daily walks will occasionally involve a mountain ascent of over 3000ft / 900m high. To help you decide if you are fit enough for this trip, ask yourself:

Can you comfortably hike for 10+ miles (16+km), climbing mountains and covering a variety of challenging underfoot conditions? How often do you do this?

Accommodation

Our self-guided walking and hiking holidays feature a wide range of accommodation – very much depending on the remoteness of the region. This includes small hotels, guest houses and traditional B+Bs.

Our accommodation partners are carefully chosen according to a number of factors – charming locations, very good facilities and a reputation for providing Highland hospitality. Establishments range from small guesthouses and bed and breakfasts to Inns and country hotels. Most are small, owner-managed establishments where you can be assured of a highly personal service.

Wherever they are available, we will reserve en suite rooms for you. However, these may not be available in the high season, especially if you are booking your holiday at the last minute, so we cannot guarantee that all of your accommodation will be en-suite. We will advise you wherever possible if this is the case.

Single Supplement

Clients who request a single room will incur a single room supplement of £225, or £300 with upgraded accommodation.

Customer Kudos

Every client receives a feedback survey when they return from their guided, self guided or tailor made holiday with us.

Once completed the review is published on our website just as soon as our database updates. The little touches and details are important to us and where issues are raised we make positive changes to our trips to improve your experience.

That's why we read each of our client's reviews and although we don't respond to all of them, if it's glowing feedback then we get the satisfaction of helping to make your holidays truly memorable.

5 star 94

4 star 15

3 star 0

2 star 0

1 star 0

by Hayne Hipp 01/09/2016

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
The Bottom Line

by Julia Caldwell 27/06/2016

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
all good - preferred the Inns with personnel greeting you - most often the Bed and Breakfast spots were preferred
Your Guide
no guide - markings were good and notes were helpful
The Bottom Line
well coordinated and priced

by Kevin Piercey 28/10/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

3Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Could offer more assistance in terms of pre and post travel
Trip Comments
Unfortunately weather was a huge issue but luggage transfers and trip materials were excellent
Accommodation and Food
Food was good but some of the accommodations were less than great.
would prefer to pay more and stay in nicer places when available
Your Guide
Like the written notes
The Bottom Line
Excellent well managed trip

by Laurie Couturier 26/08/2014

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

3Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Most places were great, with a few exceptions (lack of cleanliness at the Rose Cottage was the greatest disappointment encountered throughout the trip)
Your Guide
GPS format would not necessarily help but a more precise map would be greatly appreciated.
The Bottom Line
Again, a more precise map would have been highly appreciated.

TEAM WILDERNESS RESPONSE:
Thank you so much for your feedback Laurie, it’s always great to hear how people found the trip and I’m glad you had a good time. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the accommodation; we know how important it is to come home to a nice place after a long day so we’ll certainly pass those comments on to the accommodation.
As you know for this trip we provide you with the official West Highland Way book that includes two different maps. This information has seemed to work really well in the past but we’d love to hear where you had problems and what we could do to make the route clearer?
I’m glad you enjoyed the trip overall and had a great time walking The West Highland Way!

by Lis Poulsen 16/07/2014

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Any further questions regarding to our trip was very quick and friendly answered
Trip Comments
The most spectacular part of the trip was from Crianlarich to Fort William.
The most disappointed and uncomfortable part was along the river Loch Lomond where it didn´t have anything with walking to do but instead climbing,
Accommodation and Food
The quality of the B and B was very perfect , and the hostess were all very friendly except on Beingfarm,- the general atmosphere on Beingfarm were very unfriendly.
The food were perfect everywhere
Your Guide
Very easy to see where you had to walk
The Bottom Line
I would highly recommend this trip because of its beautifulness and as a good way to accelerate energy and fitness

by Alexandra Kahn 24/06/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Apparently I failed to re-check the dates and we ended up booking an extra day in Fort William on June 13 when we needed to leave for a flight from Edinborgh on June 14. This led to an increased cost for our trip which was unfortunate.
Trip Comments
I did not realize that there were so many tarmac surfaces which are very hard on the feet and joints, and there was quite a lot of this especially at the end of long distance days. The second half of the last day from Kinlochleven to Fort William -- through clear cut forest and then on hard surfaces all the way through city centre was tedious. I would have liked to have Wilderness Scotland suggest the option of ending the hike in Kinoxhleven, which was lovely.
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
We did not use GPS nor would we need to on this trip.
The Bottom Line
We believe the cost was high (1000 GPS per person) based on our understanding of the cost for our lodging.

by Julie Wartell 19/06/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
In general, very good but I would have liked to have our hotels when the arrangements were initially made versus waiting until a few weeks before. I was not given a good reason (or any reason for that matter) on why they would not be provided.
Trip Comments
The arrangements and hike itself were great, our only complaint was that our luggage was not at the hotel in Fort William when we arrived just after 4pm... we should not have had to wait to get out of our wet, dirty clothes.
Accommodation and Food
It was very disappointing that we were traveling as a couple but 3 of the hotels had twin beds so we couldn't sleep together.
Your Guide
Having both would be nice. The only one that did not seem accurate was the day to Anchorage Cottage. We were exhausted but then told we had to walk an additional 3.5 miles to get any food or beer. This would have been nice to be noted.
The Bottom Line
My only other issue was that my friend attempted to join us and tried to make arrangements through Wilderness Scotland but not only was the person not super responsive (my friend had to keep calling when she heard nothing), but then my friend was told that it was not possible to arrange. Fortunately, she found another company to do the arrangements.

by Ken Rogel 18/06/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
We didn't get hotel listing until vary late in the process
Trip Comments
Several of the accommodations had two single beds rather than one larger bed
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
GPS is not a bad thing but it assumes that hikers own a GPS devise
The Bottom Line

by Vicki Wooster 27/05/2014

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Most of our accomodations were great. However, two were not. The Dalkell Cottage in Tyndrum was run down and not very comfortable Also, our room in the MacDonald Hotel was pretty bad -- small bed, very squeaky floor, thin walls, and noises from other guests' toilets or showers that were incredibly loud in our room.
Your Guide
In terms of helping us figure out the route, the notes were quite good. However, we both felt that they were not always very precise about the challenges each day. For example, day #2 had many unanticipated hills. And, the footing on the path was rocky and difficult on many days.
The Bottom Line
We loved the trip!! We would definitely recommend it. Our most "inspirational" moment was our 19-mile day -- starting out walking around the green mountains and farms, then having an amazing and eerie walk across the Ranoch Moor, and finally coming over the ridge to see Glen Coe as we headed into Kingshouse. The scenery in that one day was extraordinary and mysterious.

by Jane Callahan 23/05/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
The directions to the inn at drymen weren't specific enough. And we didn't realize we had to get our bags in fort william.
Accommodation and Food
First night in Millgaive - it was clear the staff was smoking in the kitchen although it was posted as a no smoking inn. The staff at Kilenleven were the only ones that were aloof. We loved the Drymen Inn and Bridge of Orchy!
Your Guide
We had our own and it was helpful
The Bottom Line
Lovely scenery and lovely people. We were surprised however by the stretches of totally felled forests.

by Eithne Buckenham 03/10/2013

5Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
good communication and excellent idea to stay at the Lime Tree in Fort William
Trip Comments
The final few steps were a little emotional
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
We don't have a walking GPS - some of the other walkers said their gps sometimes didn't get a signal Don't know enough about them to comment more!
The Bottom Line

by Stephen McArdle 16/09/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

3Accommodation and Food

0Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
When the driver met us to collect the bags, he was friendly and efficient. We then never encountered Wilderness Scotland again - which I would say was overall a good thing as this meant everything had gone well.
Accommodation and Food
Very differing standards where generally the B&Bs were of good quality but the hotels were like stepping back in time.
We appreciated that in some cases there is little choice for accommodation (e.g. Kingshouse) but others, such as the MacDonald hotel in Kirklochleven really need to do better.
Food almost everywhere was good - the packed lunches were variable.
Your Guide
I have not tried to answer the above as I did not use them personally.
The use of GPS would be a good addition however I would suggest it should not replace the written notes but should be available as an option.
The Bottom Line
We had a very enjoyable trip which, whilst we could have organised similar ourselves, we were grateful that it was done for us.
The most inspirational moment was viewing Ben Nevis which we had intended to ascend following our walk - but which we then decided it would be better to return and complete another time.

by Tom Wrenn 02/08/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Overall I found the trip very enjoyable people were very friendly and hospitable.
Accommodation and Food
parts of the route track do need some
maintainance
Your Guide
Do not have a view on this
The Bottom Line
Excellent

by Miriam Weiss 28/07/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
It may not be possible to give all the needed information. The information you provided was helpful and adequate.
Trip Comments
We loved walking, the beauty of the High Lands, and the sense of discovery.

The low point for me was when I got sick for 24 hours. I believe I had food poisoning of some sort, and will seek further diagnosis in the United States on return.

We met a man who recited Robert Burns poetry to us on a bridge outside of the Bridge of Orchy. He granted us a key to the emotional heart of Scotland. A treasured memory.
Accommodation and Food
The accommodations varied widely. The most beautiful B&B was in Kinglochleven. You made a special effort to transfer us from King's House to the Glen Coe Hotel. This place was the worst of the accommodations--completely dirty, cramped and hot. But the restaurant next door was excellent. On the other hand the restaurant bar/food offerings in Kinglochleven were disappointing. Some of our best meals were picnics purchased at grocery stores.
Your Guide
It would have been interesting to know our distances by GPS. We continued to believe we had hiked farther than the TRail guide indicated.
The Bottom Line
Hiking is good for the body, the heart and the soul. Discoveries on foot nourish all of these. The West Highland way is now a treasured memory of active health, and the unexpected learning that can be found around ever corner.

by Carmen Berenguer 27/05/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
The Bottom Line
Nosotros lo recomendamos a amigos nuestros que lo hagan.
Nos ha gustado mucho.

Trip Details

The West Highland Way is a classic long distance walk, covering 152 kilometres (95 miles) from Milngavie on the outskirts of Glasgow, to Fort William in the Highlands.

The West Highland Way route travels along the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, across the atmospheric Rannoch Moor, past dramatic Glencoe and onwards to finish at the foot of Ben Nevis, Britain’s highest mountain.

The West Highland Way is one of the classic treks of the world and is undertaken by many people of all ages from across the world, making it a fun and social trek. On this self-guided walk we arrange your accommodation each evening and baggage transfer, as well as providing you with detailed route notes and maps so that you get the most out of this wonderful trek.

Additional Nights Accommodation: Some people prefer to split Day 6 on the West Highland Way, which covers 30km, into two shorter days. Taking this option would add £65 per person to the trip price, or £90 with upgraded accommodation.

Upgraded Accommodation: We can also offer you an upgraded accommodation package along the route. The total cost comes to £795 per person.

Upgraded Accommodation with two 5 star nights: We can also offer you an upgraded accommodation package which includes a night at the luxurious Glencoe House Hotel and Inverlochy Castle Hotel. This brings the total to £1170 per person.

Tour Itinerary – Self Guided West Highland Way

Day 1 – Arrive Milngavie

Today you’ll make your own way to Milngavie, on the northern fringes of Glasgow, where you’ll spend the night at your first guesthouse of the trip.

Day 2 – Milngavie (Glasgow) – Drymen

Starting in Milngavie on the northern side of Glasgow, you hike northwards along the West Highland Way, passing Craigallian and Carbeth Lochs before you reach the first night’s accommodation at the village of Drymen. (B)

Distance 19km

Day 3 – Drymen to Rowardennan

The trail follows the eastern bank of Loch Lomond, one of Scotland’s most beautiful and famous lochs, to reach the tranquil setting of Rowardennan, which is located on the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond. (B)

Distance 22km

Day 4 – Rowardennan to Inverarnan

This remote section of the trail takes you along the north-eastern section of Loch Lomond, hiking over some rough ground before the trail becomes better as you reach the Inverarnan. (B)

Distance 23km

Day 5 – Inverarnan to Tyndrum

You’re hiking into the Highlands now, the mountains seem to stretch all the way to the sky as the views open up to reveal some of the stunning vistas found in Strath Fillan. When you arrive at your accommodation on this day you’ll have passed the half way point of the West Highland Way. (B)

Distance 22km

Day 6 – Tyndrum to Glencoe

On this fantastic day of hiking, the West Highland Way passes through some of the finest scenery of the Highlands (as well as past some famous old pubs and inns!). It climbs up past Loch Tulla then across the wilderness of Rannoch Moor to Glencoe. This is a long day of hiking but the underfoot terrain is pretty good and there is not a lot of height gain so it is achievable for most reasonably fit hikers. (B)

Distance 30km

Please note that some people prefer to split Day 6 into two shorter days. There is an additional cost for this of £65 for the extra night’s accommodation. Please let us know at the time of booking if you would like to do this and we will book the best available option. (B)

Day 7 – Glencoe to Kinlochleven

One of the most challenging days of the West Highland Way, today’s route sees the trail climb high over the Devil’s Staircase, a high mountain pass, and then descend to the small village of Kinlochleven. (B)

Distance 14km

Day 8 – Kinlochleven to Fort William

The final day sees the trail climb over a lower pass and then, with views of Ben Nevis – the highest mountain in Scotland – it descends to the end point of the West Highland Way in Fort William. (B)

Distance 22km

Day 9 – Fort William and depart

After a leisurely breakfast, put on some comfortable footwear and explore the town of Fort William before making your way home, perhaps taking the scenic West Highland Railway back to Glasgow. (B)

For a detailed itinerary and trips information please see our PDF Trip Dossier

Download Dossier

Call Your Adventure Consultant Now

Speak to the Team

Call us. Get straight through to a local expert in the Highlands of Scotland.

Phone

Price from: £725

Duration: 8 night(s)

No. of Travellers:   Date:

Location: West Highlands including Knoydart

Comfort: Classic

Difficulty: 6

110 review(s)

Trip Photos

High above Loch Lomond on the West Highland WayThis little house hasThe West Highland Way has well maintained trails and epic views.Sunset on Loch Lomond after the first day on the West Highland WayThe West Highland Way path climbs up above Glencoe village.Giving the feet a welcome soak in the waters of Loch Lomond after a day walking the West Highland WayThe majesty of Glencoe opens out in front of you.Ever varied and interesting paths keep the feet and mind amused on the West Highland Way.Climbing on firm paths with Loch Lomond in the background.Passing Black Mount and Rannoch Moor on the West Highland WayThe West Highland Way winds its way north into the HighlandsWe pass many venerable old Caledonian Pine trees on the West Highland Way, this one’s a favourite.
View Gallery

Download your trip dossier

All you need to know about your trip, this essential document is a must for all adventures

 

  • All info in one document
  • Print-friendly PDF format
  • Details of the meeting point
Download Dossier

Location


Trip reviews

Customer Kudos

Hayne Hipp
01/09/2016

4

well coordinated and priced

Julia Caldwell
27/06/2016

4

Rated 4.8 out of 5 based on 110 review(s) of Self Guided – West Highland Way

5 star 94

4 star 15

3 star 0

2 star 0

1 star 0

Read All Trip Reviews