UK: +44 (0)1479 420 020
US: 1-866-740-3890
National Geographic - Best Adventure Travel Companies

Self Guided – West Highland Way

  • Trek the 95 miles of the West Highland Way, taking on the challenge of Scotland’s most famous long distance trail
  • Experience changing scenery as you hike from the lowlands of Scotland into the heart of the West Highlands
  • We will arrange all accommodation, luggage transfer and provide you with maps and comprehensive route notes.
  • 8 nights’ accommodation on a Bed and Breakfast basis in Guest Houses, Bed and Breakfasts, Small Hotels and Inns along the route, based on two people sharing a twin or double room
  • Luggage transfer for 1 bag per person for the duration of the trip, meaning you will only have to carry a day rucksack
  • Route notes which include a map and full directions to your accommodation
  • The services of the Wilderness Scotland Team prior to & during your trip

Blue Graded Self Guided Holidays 4-6

Self guided Blue graded walking holidays are suitable for fit and experienced hikers. Walking at a good pace you can expect to be out for 6-8 hours a day. You will be following a trail but should understand how to follow a hiking map with at least basic navigation skills. Daily distances will vary – typically up to 20km but may be longer occasionally, or often on the more challenging trips in the grade. Daily hike details are available in the itinerary.

Trail conditions will vary from well laid and maintained sections of gravel track to rough and rocky sections including muddy and wet areas. Short sections may be on tarmac.

ACCOMMODATION AND MEALS

At each stage of your trek we will arrange accommodation for you to stay that night. The accommodations range from small guesthouses, Highland inns, small hotels and bed and breakfast establishments which will be of a 3 or 4 star standard. Our accommodation partners are carefully chosen according to a number of factors – charming locations, very good facilities and a reputation for providing Highland hospitality. We do not use accommodations we have not personally visited.

If you choose the upgraded accommodation option we will reserve the best available accommodation option in each location for you. However, in some areas, accommodation is very limited so the choice is restricted. Where this is the case we will book the best quality room available for you. If you wish to choose upgraded accommodation please call us to book – this is not available online.

Accommodation will be reserved on a Bed & Breakfast basis – lunches and evening meals are not included. Local shops sell sandwiches and snacks for the day ahead. Many guest houses will also be able to provide a packed lunch for you if you ask them the night before. In the evenings, meals can be taken in local restaurants, hotels or bars.

Customer Kudos

Every client receives a feedback survey when they return from their guided, self guided or tailor made holiday with us.

Once completed the review is published on our website just as soon as our database updates. The little touches and details are important to us and where issues are raised we make positive changes to our trips to improve your experience.

That's why we read each of our client's reviews and although we don't respond to all of them, if it's glowing feedback then we get the satisfaction of helping to make your holidays truly memorable.

5 star 122

4 star 16

3 star 1

2 star 0

1 star 0

by Diana Laursen 08/07/2017

3Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Disappointed we booked within days of a promotional event (Black Friday I think) & it wasn't extended to us. Not too big of a deal, but we paid in full way before our trip & were still invoiced with several emails. Had to retrace my receipt to show we paid.
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Just 2 weren't great. Everything else worked out well.
Your Guide
Self guided
The Bottom Line
Appreciated the thorough itinerary via mail. Liked knowing where laundry facilities were. All B&B hosts were really nice. Overall, great trip

by Hayne Hipp 01/09/2016

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
The Bottom Line

by Julia Caldwell 27/06/2016

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
all good - preferred the Inns with personnel greeting you - most often the Bed and Breakfast spots were preferred
Your Guide
no guide - markings were good and notes were helpful
The Bottom Line
well coordinated and priced

by Kevin Piercey 28/10/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

3Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Could offer more assistance in terms of pre and post travel
Trip Comments
Unfortunately weather was a huge issue but luggage transfers and trip materials were excellent
Accommodation and Food
Food was good but some of the accommodations were less than great.
would prefer to pay more and stay in nicer places when available
Your Guide
Like the written notes
The Bottom Line
Excellent well managed trip

by Laurie Couturier 26/08/2014

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

3Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Most places were great, with a few exceptions (lack of cleanliness at the Rose Cottage was the greatest disappointment encountered throughout the trip)
Your Guide
GPS format would not necessarily help but a more precise map would be greatly appreciated.
The Bottom Line
Again, a more precise map would have been highly appreciated.

TEAM WILDERNESS RESPONSE:
Thank you so much for your feedback Laurie, it’s always great to hear how people found the trip and I’m glad you had a good time. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the accommodation; we know how important it is to come home to a nice place after a long day so we’ll certainly pass those comments on to the accommodation.
As you know for this trip we provide you with the official West Highland Way book that includes two different maps. This information has seemed to work really well in the past but we’d love to hear where you had problems and what we could do to make the route clearer?
I’m glad you enjoyed the trip overall and had a great time walking The West Highland Way!

by Lis Poulsen 16/07/2014

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Any further questions regarding to our trip was very quick and friendly answered
Trip Comments
The most spectacular part of the trip was from Crianlarich to Fort William.
The most disappointed and uncomfortable part was along the river Loch Lomond where it didn´t have anything with walking to do but instead climbing,
Accommodation and Food
The quality of the B and B was very perfect , and the hostess were all very friendly except on Beingfarm,- the general atmosphere on Beingfarm were very unfriendly.
The food were perfect everywhere
Your Guide
Very easy to see where you had to walk
The Bottom Line
I would highly recommend this trip because of its beautifulness and as a good way to accelerate energy and fitness

by Alexandra Kahn 24/06/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Apparently I failed to re-check the dates and we ended up booking an extra day in Fort William on June 13 when we needed to leave for a flight from Edinborgh on June 14. This led to an increased cost for our trip which was unfortunate.
Trip Comments
I did not realize that there were so many tarmac surfaces which are very hard on the feet and joints, and there was quite a lot of this especially at the end of long distance days. The second half of the last day from Kinlochleven to Fort William -- through clear cut forest and then on hard surfaces all the way through city centre was tedious. I would have liked to have Wilderness Scotland suggest the option of ending the hike in Kinoxhleven, which was lovely.
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
We did not use GPS nor would we need to on this trip.
The Bottom Line
We believe the cost was high (1000 GPS per person) based on our understanding of the cost for our lodging.

by Julie Wartell 19/06/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
In general, very good but I would have liked to have our hotels when the arrangements were initially made versus waiting until a few weeks before. I was not given a good reason (or any reason for that matter) on why they would not be provided.
Trip Comments
The arrangements and hike itself were great, our only complaint was that our luggage was not at the hotel in Fort William when we arrived just after 4pm... we should not have had to wait to get out of our wet, dirty clothes.
Accommodation and Food
It was very disappointing that we were traveling as a couple but 3 of the hotels had twin beds so we couldn't sleep together.
Your Guide
Having both would be nice. The only one that did not seem accurate was the day to Anchorage Cottage. We were exhausted but then told we had to walk an additional 3.5 miles to get any food or beer. This would have been nice to be noted.
The Bottom Line
My only other issue was that my friend attempted to join us and tried to make arrangements through Wilderness Scotland but not only was the person not super responsive (my friend had to keep calling when she heard nothing), but then my friend was told that it was not possible to arrange. Fortunately, she found another company to do the arrangements.

by Ken Rogel 18/06/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
We didn't get hotel listing until vary late in the process
Trip Comments
Several of the accommodations had two single beds rather than one larger bed
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
GPS is not a bad thing but it assumes that hikers own a GPS devise
The Bottom Line

by Vicki Wooster 27/05/2014

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Most of our accomodations were great. However, two were not. The Dalkell Cottage in Tyndrum was run down and not very comfortable Also, our room in the MacDonald Hotel was pretty bad -- small bed, very squeaky floor, thin walls, and noises from other guests' toilets or showers that were incredibly loud in our room.
Your Guide
In terms of helping us figure out the route, the notes were quite good. However, we both felt that they were not always very precise about the challenges each day. For example, day #2 had many unanticipated hills. And, the footing on the path was rocky and difficult on many days.
The Bottom Line
We loved the trip!! We would definitely recommend it. Our most "inspirational" moment was our 19-mile day -- starting out walking around the green mountains and farms, then having an amazing and eerie walk across the Ranoch Moor, and finally coming over the ridge to see Glen Coe as we headed into Kingshouse. The scenery in that one day was extraordinary and mysterious.

by Jane Callahan 23/05/2014

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
The directions to the inn at drymen weren't specific enough. And we didn't realize we had to get our bags in fort william.
Accommodation and Food
First night in Millgaive - it was clear the staff was smoking in the kitchen although it was posted as a no smoking inn. The staff at Kilenleven were the only ones that were aloof. We loved the Drymen Inn and Bridge of Orchy!
Your Guide
We had our own and it was helpful
The Bottom Line
Lovely scenery and lovely people. We were surprised however by the stretches of totally felled forests.

by Eithne Buckenham 03/10/2013

5Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
good communication and excellent idea to stay at the Lime Tree in Fort William
Trip Comments
The final few steps were a little emotional
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
We don't have a walking GPS - some of the other walkers said their gps sometimes didn't get a signal Don't know enough about them to comment more!
The Bottom Line

by Stephen McArdle 16/09/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

3Accommodation and Food

0Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
When the driver met us to collect the bags, he was friendly and efficient. We then never encountered Wilderness Scotland again - which I would say was overall a good thing as this meant everything had gone well.
Accommodation and Food
Very differing standards where generally the B&Bs were of good quality but the hotels were like stepping back in time.
We appreciated that in some cases there is little choice for accommodation (e.g. Kingshouse) but others, such as the MacDonald hotel in Kirklochleven really need to do better.
Food almost everywhere was good - the packed lunches were variable.
Your Guide
I have not tried to answer the above as I did not use them personally.
The use of GPS would be a good addition however I would suggest it should not replace the written notes but should be available as an option.
The Bottom Line
We had a very enjoyable trip which, whilst we could have organised similar ourselves, we were grateful that it was done for us.
The most inspirational moment was viewing Ben Nevis which we had intended to ascend following our walk - but which we then decided it would be better to return and complete another time.

by Tom Wrenn 02/08/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Overall I found the trip very enjoyable people were very friendly and hospitable.
Accommodation and Food
parts of the route track do need some
maintainance
Your Guide
Do not have a view on this
The Bottom Line
Excellent

by Miriam Weiss 28/07/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

4Accommodation and Food

4Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
It may not be possible to give all the needed information. The information you provided was helpful and adequate.
Trip Comments
We loved walking, the beauty of the High Lands, and the sense of discovery.

The low point for me was when I got sick for 24 hours. I believe I had food poisoning of some sort, and will seek further diagnosis in the United States on return.

We met a man who recited Robert Burns poetry to us on a bridge outside of the Bridge of Orchy. He granted us a key to the emotional heart of Scotland. A treasured memory.
Accommodation and Food
The accommodations varied widely. The most beautiful B&B was in Kinglochleven. You made a special effort to transfer us from King's House to the Glen Coe Hotel. This place was the worst of the accommodations--completely dirty, cramped and hot. But the restaurant next door was excellent. On the other hand the restaurant bar/food offerings in Kinglochleven were disappointing. Some of our best meals were picnics purchased at grocery stores.
Your Guide
It would have been interesting to know our distances by GPS. We continued to believe we had hiked farther than the TRail guide indicated.
The Bottom Line
Hiking is good for the body, the heart and the soul. Discoveries on foot nourish all of these. The West Highland way is now a treasured memory of active health, and the unexpected learning that can be found around ever corner.

by Carmen Berenguer 27/05/2013

4Pre-Trip Service

4Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

4The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Trip Comments
Accommodation and Food
Your Guide
The Bottom Line
Nosotros lo recomendamos a amigos nuestros que lo hagan.
Nos ha gustado mucho.

Trip Details

The West Highland Way is a classic long distance walk, covering 152 kilometres (95 miles) from Milngavie on the outskirts of Glasgow, to Fort William in the Highlands.

The West Highland Way route travels along the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, across the atmospheric Rannoch Moor, past dramatic Glencoe and onwards to finish at the foot of Ben Nevis, Britain’s highest mountain.

The West Highland Way is one of the classic treks of the world and is undertaken by many people of all ages from across the world, making it a fun and social trek. On this self-guided walk we arrange your accommodation each evening and baggage transfer, as well as providing you with detailed route notes and maps so that you get the most out of this wonderful trek.

Extra Nights and Accommodation Upgrades

You also have the option to choose the following upgrades and extra nights:

  • Upgraded accommodation package – we will reserve the best rooms available along the route – £895 per person
  • Split Day 6 and walk the route over 9 days. The additional charge is £65 per person, £90 per person if using upgraded accommodation
  • Upgraded package plus luxury nights at 5 star Inverlochy Castle and Glencoe House – £1255 per person

Tour Itinerary – Self Guided West Highland Way

Day 1 – Arrive in Milngavie

On the first day of the trip you make your own way to Milngavie, on the northern fringes of Glasgow. This is the start point of the trail where you’ll spend the night at your first guesthouse, ready to start hiking tomorrow.

Day 2 – Milngavie to Drymen

Starting from Milngavie you hike north along the West Highland Way, passing Craigallian and Carbeth Lochs. You skirt the western flanks of the Campsie Fells – where many a Glasgow mountaineer enjoyed their first outing – before you reach the first night’s accommodation in the village of Drymen at the south-eastern corner of Loch Lomond. Your bags will have been collected from your accommodation while you hike and will be waiting for you in your room when you arrive.

Distance: 19km/12miles Ascent: 210m/690ft

Day 3 – Drymen to Rowardennan

The trail leaves Drymen and passes through Garadhban Forest. Leaving the forest you can choose to climb Conic Hill, 361m in height with great views over Loch Lomond – or a low level alternative path that skirts below the hill. Reaching the eastern banks of Loch Lomond at Balmaha, you follow the shore through forestry until you reach the tranquil setting of Rowardennan, which is nestled at the foot of Ben Lomond.

Distance: 21km/13miles Ascent: 430m/1,410ft

Day 4 – Rowardennan to Inverarnan

This day is considered by many hikers to be the toughest day on the trail. It follows the remote north-eastern shoreline of Loch Lomond, on a rough undulating trail. The path improves as you near your next destination, the tiny settlement of Invernarnan.

Distance: 23km/14miles Ascent: 475m/1,560ft

Day 5 – Inverarnan to Tyndrum

Well into the Highlands now, you are surrounded by rugged mountain peaks. You make your way along Glen Falloch before turning northwards into Strath Fillan. As you approach Tyndrum you are rewarded with wonderful views of Ben Lui rising up in the west.

Distance: 19km/12miles Ascent: 490m/1,608ft

Day 6 – Tyndrum to Glencoe*

This fantastic day begins with a climb out of Tyndrum, with the trail running next to the West Highland Railway line. At the top of the pass the sweeping flanks of Ben Dorain dominate the view. Continuing north you reach Bridge of Orchy and then Inveroran, which makes a good lunch stop. The shapely peaks of the Black Mount now lie to the west while Rannoch Moor stretches into the distance in front of you. Follow the trail across the wild moor, eventually reaching Glencoe and your accommodation at the Kingshouse. A memorable day of trekking!

Distance: 30km/18.5miles Ascent: 644m/2,110ft

*Day 6 can be split into 2 shorter days with an extra night’s accommodation – see pricing section.

Day 7 – Glencoe to Kinlochleven

This is a shorter day but with the biggest ascent of the route. You hike into Glencoe then climb the trail known as the ‘Devil’s Staircase’. It is steep with some switchbacks the ascent is steady and constant. At the top of the pass at 547m, you get great views of Glencoe and down Loch Leven. Descend on a good trail to the small village of Kinlochleven.

Distance: 14km/8.5miles Ascent: 430m/1,410ft

Day 8 – Kinlochleven to Fort William

The final day sees the trail climb over a final pass – 274m this time. With views across to Ben Nevis – the highest mountain in Scotland – the trail descends into Glen Nevis and down to the end of the route in Fort William. You’ve made it! Reward yourself with a good dinner tonight!

Distance = 24km/15miles Ascent: 475m/1,560ft

Day 9 – Fort William and Depart

After a leisurely breakfast, you can put on some comfortable footwear and explore the town of Fort William before starting your journey home. If you travel back to Glasgow on the train along the West Highland Line you’ll have the chance to look out for familiar sights and reflect on a memorable hike through Scotland’s Highlands.

PLEASE NOTE: Total daily distances are given for each stage but will vary slightly as you also need to walk to your accommodation each day which will usually add a short distance.

Download Dossier

Call Your Adventure Consultant Now

Speak to the Team

Call us. Get straight through to a local expert in the Highlands of Scotland.

Phone

Price from: £775

Duration: 8 night(s)

No. of Travellers:   Date:

Location: West Highlands including Knoydart

Comfort: Classic

Difficulty: 6

140 review(s)

Trip Photos

High above Loch Lomond on the West Highland WayThis little house hasThe West Highland Way has well maintained trails and epic views.Sunset on Loch Lomond after the first day on the West Highland WayThe West Highland Way path climbs up above Glencoe village.Giving the feet a welcome soak in the waters of Loch Lomond after a day walking the West Highland WayThe majesty of Glencoe opens out in front of you.Ever varied and interesting paths keep the feet and mind amused on the West Highland Way.Climbing on firm paths with Loch Lomond in the background.Passing Black Mount and Rannoch Moor on the West Highland WayThe West Highland Way winds its way north into the HighlandsWe pass many venerable old Caledonian Pine trees on the West Highland Way, this one’s a favourite.
View Gallery

Download your trip dossier

All you need to know about your trip, this essential document is a must for all adventures

 

  • All info in one document
  • Print-friendly PDF format
  • Details of the meeting point
Download Dossier

Location


Trip reviews

Customer Kudos
Appreciated the thorough itinerary via mail. Liked knowing where laundry facilities were. All B&B hosts were really nice. Overall, great trip

Diana Laursen
08/07/2017

4

Hayne Hipp
01/09/2016

4

Rated 4.84 out of 5 based on 140 review(s) of Self Guided – West Highland Way

5 star 122

4 star 16

3 star 1

2 star 0

1 star 0

Read All Trip Reviews