Close
Articles by Year

<<     >>

Articles by Category

UK +44 (0)1479 420 020

Activities

Selected Trips

    Locations

    Selected Trips

      Client Reviews

      Rated 4.86 out of 5 based on 3964 review(s) of Client Reviews

      Every client receives a feedback survey when they return from their guided, self guided or tailor made holiday with us. Once completed the review is published on our website just as soon as our database updates. The little touches and details are important to us and where issues are raised we make positive changes to our trips to improve your experience.

      That’s why we read each of our client’s reviews and although we don’t respond to all of them, if it’s glowing feedback then we get the satisfaction of helping to make your holidays truly memorable.

      Independent Wilderness Scotland Reviews

      If you would like to read independent reviews of our holidays then you can do just that over on the AITO website (Association of Independent Tour Operators).

      GD

      Gina Dokko

      Wilderness Walking - Argyll & the Isles

      Reviewed on 18/07/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: USA
      Trip Date: 06/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      The Argyll trip was laid back, with a nice mix of walking, history, and culture. We were lucky with weather. It might be nice to build in a little time at the Loch Melfort to see the gorgeous Arduaine Gardens.

      KB

      Kenneth Barclay

      Wilderness Walking - The West Highland Way

      Reviewed on 18/07/2019

      Age: 60 - 70
      Trip Date: 01/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Fantastic trip, wonderful scenery, great weather and very professionally organised. Give it a go! We'll done wilderness Scotland.

      JE

      Joel Eisen

      Wilderness Walking - The West Highland Way

      Reviewed on 18/07/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: United States
      Trip Date: 01/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      The value of a guided WHW hike: You could do WHW as a self-guided hike. The trail is pretty well marked, although when it goes into villages like Balmaha and Tyndrum it might take some time to figure out where you're going. But there are plenty of other hikers out there so it's hard to get lost, not to mention guidebooks and baggage transfer services that will move your bigger stuff for you from place to place. You'd have to book accommodations in advance as there aren't a lot of options at natural stopping points. If you went on your own, however, you'd be missing out completely on the rich color and subtext that Wilderness Scotland's guides provide. They make every mile worth it with their knowledge and friendliness. Their expertise makes it seem almost effortless for them to enrich the experience. I can't say enough about them! The group: Mine was 16 in all, from different nations (U.S., Australia, UK). Ages ranged from early 20s to over 70, with an average of probably 55-60. It quickly became a tightly knit group and there was tremendous spirit. There are relatively few steep climbs on the WHW and so it was easy to keep conversation up most of the time! Most if not all of my fellow hikers had just as much fitness and stamina as I did, and the group stayed mostly together most of the time. Difficulty: I had never been on a long-distance multi-day hike before. I belong to two groups in the U.S. that hike regularly in the Shenandoah National Park, and could comfortably do day hikes of 10-12 miles rated "Strenuous" on the group's scale at a pace of 2.5 mph +/-. But I had no idea how that translated to the West Highland Way - Wilderness Scotland's rating of "6" left me roughly analogizing. In the end, 2 days were about as tough as a day hike back home, and the others were a little less so. Overall: One of the best vacations of my life, richly rewarding and fun. Thanks to Wilderness Scotland for the journey and memories!

      VA

      Virginia Anania

      Wilderness Walking - The West Highland Way

      Reviewed on 16/07/2019

      Age: 60 - 70
      Country: Australia
      Trip Date: 17/06/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Well organised. Informed. Helpful

      PL

      Patrick Liedtka

      Wilderness Walking - Glencoe and the Highlands

      Reviewed on 16/07/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: United States
      Trip Date: 15/06/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      See previous comments. A spectacular experience overall, and the nicest trip my spouse and I have taken as a couple. It was for our 25th anniversary and our trip delivered on our high expectations and then some.

      KS

      Katherine (Kathy) Smith

      Wilderness Walking - Outer Hebrides & Skye

      Reviewed on 15/07/2019

      Age: 70 - 80
      Country: United States
      Trip Date: 29/06/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      I highly recommend WS to anyone who enjoys the out of doors, likes a more personal contact with the land and people and who has the physical ability to do the activities offered.

      BC

      Beth Cotton

      Wilderness Walking - The Orkney Islands

      Reviewed on 15/07/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: Australia
      Trip Date: 06/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      What a wonderful way to spend a week with friends. Wilderness Scotland exceeded our expectations on every front. Our guide,Ken, was outstanding and made sure we were always well looked after. The walking, food, wildlife sightings, scenery, history and variety of the trip made for a week to remember

      DR

      David Rylah

      Wilderness Walking - The Orkney Islands

      Reviewed on 15/07/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: Australia
      Trip Date: 06/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      Well organised from beginning to end, well planned itinerary has left us with fond memories of the Orkneys. Once again, a big thank you to Ken who made it a 12 out of 10 week.

      JP

      Jenny Power

      Wilderness Walking - The Orkney Islands

      Reviewed on 15/07/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: Australia
      Trip Date: 06/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      We enjoyed a wonderful walking trip filled with unexpected sightings of puffins, seals and incredible birdlife. The walking was gentle, the weather mixed, the ancient sights were fascinating, making this one of the most interesting and relaxing holidays we’ve enjoyed.

      MC

      Melissa Cissell

      Wilderness Walking - The West Highland Way

      Reviewed on 15/07/2019

      Age: 50 - 60
      Country: United States
      Trip Date: 01/07/2019
      Trips Taken: 1

      The Bottom Line

      The Bottom Line

      A++ Loved it!

      Award-Winning Journeys

      National Geographic Adventure
      National Geographic Adventure

      Best Adventure Travel Companies

      Scottish Tourist Board
      Scottish Tourist Board

      Visit Scotland 5 Star Activity Provider

      Pure Life Experiences
      Pure Life Experiences

      High-End Experiential Travel

      World Travel Awards
      World Travel Awards

      Leading Green Tour Operator

      National Geographic Traveller
      National Geographic Traveller

      50 tours of a lifetime

      News & Offers

      Be the first to hear about new trips, locations and activities with our monthly newsletter

      Exceptional Travel Experiences
      From our Friends

      Wilderness Ireland

      Specialists in offering a range of adventure holidays, tours and incredible wilderness experiences. Wilderness Ireland take their clients to the most remote and beautiful regions of Ireland, all while staying at the most welcoming accommodations and delivering outstanding customer service.

      Visit Website
      Bspoke

      The ultimate collection of European cycling holidays. BSpoke's cycling experts can tailor-make your perfect cycling holiday where you can travel at your own pace or in a group of like-minded individuals. A BSpoke Tour is all about being as restful or as adventurous as you desire.

      Visit Website
      Ski Solutions

      Britain's original ski travel agency and tailor-made ski tour operator, Ski Solutions has been arranging ski holidays for over 30 years across Europe and North America. The Ski Solutions team are all skiing experts, and their wealth of knowledge and passion for the mountains will ensure you experience a truly memorable ski holiday.

      Visit Website
      Cycling for Softies

      Cycling for Softies is a luxury cycling tour operator providing gourmet cycling adventures in France and Italy. These are leisurely cycling tours winding through vineyards and staying in high end accommodation where the emphasis is as much on the food and wine as the cycling. Welcome to life in the easy lane.

      Visit Website
      Live
      Chat